Visa On Arrival

Passports and Visas Bali Visa.

As of 9 February 2015, all airlines departing from Indonesia are required to include the airport departure tax in the price of the ticket. This new regulation is valid for both domestic flights as well as international flights departing from Indonesia.

Departure Tax is also called Passenger Service Charge (PSC).



Please read carefully as there have been changes to Indonesia's visa policy.

Effective from August 1, 2005, all arrivals to Indonesia are subject to new visa regulations.



Effective from 12 June 2015, new visa regulation from the Indonesian Government gives visitors from 45 countries visa free when visiting Bali & Indonesia for the purpose of "tourism/leisure travels only". To enjoy the privilege, visitors must enter and leave the country only from one of the five international airports or four seaports, namely the airports of Bali (Ngurah Rai International Airport), Jakarta (Soekarno Hatta International Airport), Medan (Kuala Namu International Airport), Surabaya (Juanda International Airport) and Batam (Hang Nadim International Airport); or seaports of Sekupang and Batam Centre, Batam, Sri Bintan and Tanjung Uban Riau. 

Failure to comply with the procedure will result in visitors being charged with Visa on Arrival on the other airports or seaports when entering or leaving the country.

Below is the complete list of the countries:

  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Singapore
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Thailand
  • The Netherlands
  • The Philippines
  • United Arab Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Vietnam



Visa On Arrival (VOA) costs US$35 for 30 days. Processing is relatively fast in Bali and those who cannot pay in US$ can change money on the spot at a money changer. The 30 day visa may be extended for a further 30 days by paying an additional US$35. You will have to leave Indonesia and return if you wish to stay longer than 60 days.

Below are the countries that are eligible for visa-on-arrival when visiting Bali and Indonesia.

  • Algeria
  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Brazil
  • Bulgaria
  • Cyprus
  • Egypt
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Iran
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Libya
  • Liechensteia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Suriname
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • Tunisia

The Visa purchasing system will take approximately 3-5 minutes per applicant. There are 6 payment counters, a bank and a money changer set up to process payments.

Once you have paid for and received your visa you will need to proceed to Immigration where your visa will be processed. Citizens of countries not on the visa on arrival or visa free lists will be required to apply for a visa before entering Indonesia. Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months from the date of entry into Indonesia, and you must have proof of onward passage (either return or through tickets).

If you cannot fulfill both of these requirements, you may not be allowed to enter the country. 

You are advised to change your money into US$ prior to arriving in Bali to pay for your visa on arrival

Citizens of countries neither on the VoA nor Visa-Free lists are required to apply for a visa overseas before travelling to Indonesia.  For details of various types of Visa, please visit this link Visa of the Republic of Indonesia.

Discover more

Previous next